• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

ICE-rule of thumb

Aqua Eye

With the temps we are having lately (single digit highs and minus digit lows) does anyone have any ideas or formulas,even educated guesses as to how much ice can form in a 24 hour period. If the current conditions hang around through the end of the year I'm guessing I could spend new years eve fishing out of my new " BIG " house. Is it unrealistic to expect this kind of ice in the central Mn area by then? I don't think the latest snowfall did much to hurt the ice-making process.What do you think? Under the current conditions I would expect the area lakes to be adding 1-2 inches a day but I'm no expert. Of course I'm not towing my 14 footer out until I can do it relatively safely. Any thoughts?-TROY

Just a little fyi...Here in the southern suburbs of the Twin Cities we have about 2-4 inches on the lakes. As far as a formula, sorry do'nt have a clue. I can tell you though that Saturday night we only had a inch on Lake Marion here in Lakeville and today it measured 2-4 inches out from shore for quite a ways. Good Luck and stay safe!!!

Aqua Eye, I would NEVER rely on formulas to calculate ice thickness.

I am 40 miles south of Mpls, 2 days ago i tried the chisel (long crowbar, whatever you want to call it) and it went though just in front of me, yesterday I had 4 inches, today
they were driving 4 wheelers on it.

I'd rather be safe than sorry, but you want to put your life jacket on, some ice picks to pull you out, not much weight, a long chisel (thumping bar, whatever...) and be careful.

But DO NOT RELY on formulas.

That's my 2 cents.

HAPPY HOLIDAYS.....(maybe I had too much "leaded" eggnog)...

Val

Just for information