• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Diesel Owners ? for you.

Question

I was changing my Cummins fuel filter last night and screwed up! I did not put enough fuel back in the filter res. and when I went to start it it died. Dumb @ss I know. I have changed the thing 5 times or so and never had a problem. Well after it fired up it died, I am sure to lack of fuel. What do I do to restart? My buddy said he has done this and sprayed a tiny little bit of starter fluid down the air intake to start it. Big no no according to the sticker on my air box. Any other options or ideas would help.
Thanks guys.

10 answers to this question

Mr.BigEyes,
I can't help you out but I'm interested in what others will have to say. I'm new to the diesel end of things I have the 6.0 Ford diesel. I'll be changing my fuel filter for the 1st time before cold weather hits. Any info would be great.
Thanks, Tom BD110

And good luck to you Mr.Big

BD-
That is a nice engine you purchased! Just make sure when you change your filter fill the whole fuel filter res up then stick the filter in and fill up some more! I was simply in a rush last night and did not put enough fuel in the resevior. I was too busy punching in cord. on my GPS in my boat..... I am sure I will be alright. I think Cummins would even warranty stupidity if needed.

Big Eyes -

Under no circumstance use any starting fluid with the Cummins engine. There are heater grids in the intake side (instead of glow plugs) and starting fluid will make a big kaboom.

Your problem is fairly common. (I am assuming you have a 24 valve engine)