• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Jiffy Model 30 Power Auger Woes

Question

I have a 10 yr old Jiffy 8" Model 30 power auger that has given me no problems to date. It gets a tune up every 2 years and it gets used about a dozen times per year.

First, I'm no mechanic. Second, I've made a bunch of observations. Here they are: 1) The gas cap vent is wide open; 2) Gas is fresh; 3) Spark plug looks fine; 4) It starts easily and idles perfectly; 5) Problem occurs when it is both warmed up and/or running cold; 6) Problem occurs despite the choke position.

Here's the problem: When you are drilling a hole and it "switches gears" (audible difference in engine speed, i.e. going full bore) in the middle of the hole, it stalls. It then takes a few pulls to get it started again.

This happens in every hole and at the same time, just after the engine kicks into overdrive. Again, it's never done this and it is a pain!!

Any ideas? I've checked the plug but not changed it.

Thanks.

10 answers to this question

Your high sped idle jet screw needs adjustment.

Do this on a warm motor and if you have a friend handy have him tweek it while you drill. A minor turn should be all it will take. You will hear the difference quickly.

Be carefull not to bottom out the jet screw and damage the needle and seat.

Make sure to run fuel conditioners in your mix, either SEA-FOAM or STA-Bil.

------------------
"Ed on the Red"
Backwater Guiding Service
[email protected]
fishingminnesota.com/ed-on-the-red/

Hey, guys thanks for the reply. I'll follow your advice. The trick now is to find some ice here in MA so I can drill a hole!! It's supposed to hit 60oF here today.

Thanks again and I'll let you know how it turns out.