• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Boat Batteries

wazz

Question

Hi all, I'm new to the boat scene. Last year was my first year with my boat but the battery would die. So I bought a new one, and again it died. Should the boat charge the battery or do I need to do that whenever I'm done with the boat. When I'm fishing I will typcally have on the GPS, The locater and the radio. I wouldn't thin that woud be enough to fully discharge the battery, but it does. I was stuck out on a flat on Millie Lacs at 3am and the boat would not start. That was scary, would those solar battery chargers help?
Any input wold be helpful.
Thanks
Wazz...

------------------

11 answers to this question

Wazz,

What size motor do you have? The way I see it, you have one of two problems. Either the alternator on your motor is not working, therefore it's not charging your battery, or you have a bare wire somewhere that's grounding out and draining your battery.

Paul

Wazz, I had the same problem. The best solution if you have room for 2 batteries is to run all of your accessories off of one battery and the motor off of another. After I made this switch I never had another problem. Good Luck.

The motor is 85Hp Mariner. I have a 2 battery system, I know the trolling motor is run off the old battery. But I'm not sure about the rest of the electonics. I know the battery is getting low because when I start the boat the GPS will power off. So I use the boat almost every weekend. So does everybody charge their batteries when there done or maybe every 2 weeks or should the charging system on the boat be able to handle this...

------------------