• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

"The RED Bead"????

From what I understand, Red is the color least visable to fish (the deeper the water). It disapears the fastest in the color spectrum as far as Fish sight goes. Blue/green is the color the fish can see best, but it does blend into the surrondings, being the light can't penetrate water like air.

Now to my question. Why the RED bead above the hook that we always read/hear about?

Is it the bead that makes a difference?

Was the bite just on that day?

Was the it the right bait used at the right depth at the right time?

Would a Green bead have done the same?

The species of fish?

State of the fishes eye's- Rods vs cone vision?

What's your opinion?

Brandt

(river-rat4)

I'm by no means an expert but I thought I read somewhere that Red is one of the 1st colors to be filtered out in water in our eyes but not for walleyes. It was my understanding that walleyes can still see red at much greater depths than we can but I could be wrong.

I use red beads, blue beads, orange beads, green beads, chartuese beads, white beads and glow beads. All serve as a small attractor. Some days certain colors are better than others.

The April/May edition of In Fisherman talked about Walleye and their spectrum of vision again. Walleye can see a lot more red than we can. Almost infrared. But Walleye lack a wide field of view of blues and cannot see purple, it basically stops at indigo. But I've caught fish on blue baits before.

Here is a quote from the article I was basing my question on, I can't tell you what publication but it was in the '80s.