• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Questions on rods...

Capt'nJosh

Question

My wife got me a nice St Croix rod for my birthday, but the tip is messed up on it so I am going to take it back and look at all my options. Are the St Croix and G Loomis really worth the $$$ that you have to fork out for them? I've been using the Galyans Guide Series for the last 2-3 years and have been happy with them. That being said, I haven't fished with a St Croix or G Loomis, so maybe I just don't know what I am missing. For what she paid for my rod/reel I could set myself up with 2 really nice combos from Galyans, so I am trying to decide what to do... Any thoughts out there?

Capt'nJosh

24 answers to this question

It's up to you. I would give the croix's a shot though. But, be warned, once you go to a croix, you might never go back.

Much lighter than the galyans rods, maybe not so much difference on the sensitivity but there will be diffrences.

I would give one of the top-end rods a shot. It's a gift right, she gave you a great rod, take a great rod, no need to get practical and look for bargains. The most expensive rods I have ever owned are the St. Croix Premiers (80 bucks or so) and I absolutely love them, but God, if somebody gave me something better, I don't think I loosen my grip on it too easily.

Hey CaptnJosh,

I would say it depends on what you will be using it for. If you are running cranks and spinners, a lower end st.croix is plenty good. I would even recommend a cheaper rod if your budget is a concern.