• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Strikemaster Lazer Auger Blades

Big Dave2

I haven't done much ice fishing the last few years so I am kind of out of the loop on some stuff. I have an old Strikemaster Lazer auger that is in bad need of new blades. Can I still trade in the old ones like I used to and buy re-sharpened ones or is that not a thing anymore? I don't seem to see these on the shelf anywhere anymore...

Auger blades.jpg

I just see packages of new blades like this:

lazer auger blades.jpg

Edited by Big Dave2

I’d call a few of your favorite bait shops to see if they carry them.  The cost of lazer blades is one reason I got rid of mine (10 inch).  Plus, I’m not sure if the “thing” was one shop resharpening or if they were done by locals with a jig or something, but I found so much less life in resharpened Lazer blades it hardly made it worth the money saved.

Coulda just been the shop I was getting them from?  But good riddance anyway.

I tune up my Ion blades myself.  My gas auger is an older Eskimo which has about the same blades so I can handle those too.

19 minutes ago, Wanderer said:

I’d call a few of your favorite bait shops to see if they carry them.  The cost of lazer blades is one reason I got rid of mine (10 inch).  Plus, I’m not sure if the “thing” was one shop resharpening or if they were done by locals with a jig or something, but I found so much less life in resharpened Lazer blades it hardly made it worth the money saved.

Coulda just been the shop I was getting them from?  But good riddance anyway.

I tune up my Ion blades myself.  My gas auger is an older Eskimo which has about the same blades so I can handle those too.

I hear ya. I'll never buy another Lazer auger again just because of the blade hassle. I wish I never would have went away from the old chipper blades.