• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

After Market Remote Start

My son has a 2004 Buick regal that had an aftermarket remote start installed when we bought it.  The car starts fine with the remote start but after a few minutes of running the car shuts off and then automatically restarts the engine.  I have a little knowledge of how the remote start systems typically work but i am not an expert.  I assume it is loosing a tach signal but i was hoping someone would maybe have a little more knowledge on the subject.  I am not sure of the brand but the below is a picture of the key fob.

20171228_100817.jpg

We have remote starts in 3 vehicles. I have the factory one in my Ram, my wife an aftermarket in her Durango and my daughter has one in her car that she can start from anywhere with an app on her phone.

The aftermarket ones can have glitches due to the vast differences in wiring across the market. Take it to an authorized installer and have them trouble shoot it.

3 hours ago, delcecchi said:

I'm old school, wondering why anyone needs to start their car remotely, unless of course they are worried about "boom" 

Glad to see you, Jeremy.  

Really?

On a day like today you can't figure out any reason a remote start could be handy?

Edited by Big Dave2

1 hour ago, Big Dave2 said:

Really?

On a day like today you can't figure out any reason a remote start could be handy?

we have a garage.  and I distinguish "need" from "want".  So you start the car and let it idle so you don't have to endure 5 minutes of chill? 

You don't start your car and let it warm up when it is -15?

7 minutes ago, delcecchi said:

and I distinguish "need" from "want".  

So you "need" the internet and the device you are posting on? How about your sous vide machine? ;)

Do you really even "need" a car? A horse works fine, doesn't it? :D