Guests - If You want access to member only forums on HSO. You will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up on HotSpotOutdoors.

It's easy - LOOK UPPER right menu.

• RECEIVE THE GIFTS MEMBERS SHARE WITH YOU HERE...THEN...CREATE SOMETHING TO ENCHANT OTHERS THAT YOU WANT TO SHARE

You know what we all love...

When you enchant people, you fill them with delight and yourself in return. Have Fun!!!

MotleyDan

Rookie Wheelhouse question

Just bought my first wheelhouse.  So.... her is my roomie question.  Once I drop the house on the ice.  Is it best to cut the holes before i place the hole sleeves in or place the hole sleeves and then cut the holes?

I haven’t used hole sleeves in my house even though I have some.  I lower the house about half way or more, cut the holes, leave the slush piles and set the house down the rest of the way with the slush making a seal around the holes.

I’m still fairly new with wheelhouse myself but this works pretty well in my experience.

I have had a wheelhouse for several years and like Wanderer and 1lessdog say leave the house up and use the slush cones to seal around the holes.  One this I have started is to always have the extension on the auger as it is more comfortable drilling w/o having to bend down so much.

I drop mine to the ground and use the slush bucket to keep the mess out of the house. Using the bucket leaves just enough shavings around the hole to seal up the bottom of the hole sleeves. I have tried leaving the house up a bit as described above, but never seem to get the holes quite where I want them and have always worried about the slush pile raising hell with the spray foam under the house.

Right to the ice for us unless there for a few days, or if it’s warmer out then going to freeze quick.  Nice thing about using the slush from the holes is we didn’t even have to bank the house the first day.  Nice to get fishing right away