• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Rigging my new fishing boat

fishing addict

Question

I just finalized the purchase of my first fishing boat. i am just a beginner and would really like to rig the boat to give me a good chance at catching some walleyes. I will fish mostly mille lacs and the metro lakes as well. the boat is a lund fisherman 1700 with a 140hp suzuki 4stroke. What else should I consider getting? a trolling motor or will this engine troll down slow enough? which sonar unit? I am looking at the pinpoint 7520 or lowrance X15. I already have a handheld gps with mapping so thats not important. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Also who do you guys suggest as a place I can have my boat rigged up with this equipment?

8 answers to this question

For locators is you have a GPS already you could look cheaper than the units you metioned and get a nice one. Look at Lowrance X87, Eagle Fishmark 320, Garmin 240 all of these are good units and much cheaper than you mentioned. If you plan to anchor and do some vertical jigging even a vexilar would be nice to have in there. The units you metioned are very good but there are some less expensive options that will do nicely for you. I would get all of what setterguy mentioned as well I have all of it but the drift sock and I have ran into times where it would have been nice to have one.

------------------
Grip it and Rip it

IFFWALLEYES

The first thing is a set of slash gaurds this is a must if you are going to be on big water. If you do alot of trolling some good rods holders are nice(saves on the wrists)but are not top priority. Get a bow mount trolling motor and put a vex on it. If you do any lindying a bow mount will give you excellent control along with your drift sock.