• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Have Ion-Want k Drill

Hawg

This is a question for those that have used both, not a debate on everyone's favorite auger. I dearly love my Ion, it's as dependable as a person could ever want but I have a wild hair to buy a K Drill. Has anyone actually used both and have comments on the pros and cons of switching? I always have a drill ( Big Milwaukee) with me. To switch or not to switch, that is the question. 

I have no experience with the K drill but would like to try one myself. I have however been using a Nils with my drill for the last couple of seasons. And I've used a friends Ion a few times. With the nils drill combo its easy to pack away. Most of the time I take the drill off the nils unless I'm hole hopping. The ion is much bulkier and slower drilling. For running and gunning I don't think there's a better combo then a light weight drill combo.

By "clean hole without throwing slush all over" do you just mean you don't want shavings to get thrown around inside of our house? If so, I would think cutting the bottom out of a 5-gallon bucket and dropping that down the catch-cover hole before using the K-drill would eliminate most of that. 

I see guys complaining about the Nils leaving too much slush in the hole, and I would imagine the K-Drill might have the same issue. I can see how that would be a problem if you're cutting ton of holes. But if you stay put all day or weekend I wouldn't think taking an extra 5 minutes to scoop slush out of a hole would be a deal breaker. I also got one of those ice skimmers for about $20 and that clears most of the ice in one scoop.

On Saturday, October 07, 2017 at 9:34 AM, Hawg said: