• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Bourbon and Whiskey

When buying fancy whiskey or whatever, be aware that many brands are just buying from the large former Seagrams distillery in Indiana and bottling it with fancy labels....  

See if it says "distilled and bottled by" or just some weasel words.   Templeton Rye is one that buys their booze. 

Just now, delcecchi said:

When buying fancy whiskey or whatever, be aware that many brands are just buying from the large former Seagrams distillery in Indiana and bottling it with fancy labels....  

See if it says "distilled and bottled by" or just some weasel words.   Templeton Rye is one that buys their booze. 

To my knowledge, Seagrams is a "blended" whiskey. I guess that's not what I'm in the market for.

I'm fairly new to drinking Bourbon or Whiskey "neat" or on the rocks but so far I've tried Buffalo Trace and Jim Beam Black. To be honest I liked the Jim Beam Black better than Buffalo Trace. I tried several kinds of Bourbon at a bourbon bar in Sioux Falls when I was there overnight for a trade show a year or 2 ago. I don't remember what it was I tried, I just let the bartender give me what he thought I might like but whatever I had I really liked most of it.

I'm considering trying Makers 46 from Maker's Mark, Eagle Rare which is a Buffalo Trace product or Larceny from the Heaven Hill Distillery next but I am open to suggestions.

I guess I have also had Jamison and Crown "neat" as well and they are doable but not great.