• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Yep.  Looks like it is a little past prime.  Likely will be on the same tree again next fall though.  Make a mental note for next year!

Found these two little ones growing right next to the one I've been tracking with photos.  Don't know how I missed them before.  

Watch your step and take a look around before breaking out your mushroom dance!

image.jpeg

How does one know when they are ideal for picking?  Not a shroomer myself.  Been watching this forum for awhile and trying to learn, I was walking and trying to ID some for my folks in Thier "yard". One large chicken, and two of these hens and various others I don't have a good ID on yet, not likely of edible variety.

Thanks guys.

I'm far from an expert, but I'll share my (limited) experience.  Younger is almost always better than waiting.  They grow fast.  Early in the season, I've found the bugs/worms get in there within a week.  Later in the season (October) I've had better luck letting them grow longer.  But one week seems to be a good guideline for me.  I've read they are good to eat until they start "sporing out" by turning white/dropping spores.  But they will probably be buggy before then in my experience.

It's my favorite mushroom, but it's also been hit or miss for me.  Sometimes the ones I find are so full of dirt/debris, that it's like eating a bowl of grape nuts cereal.  You can't really soak or scrub the dirt out because the mushroom grows around it on some.  But if you can find a young, clean one - they are awesome!

Nice!  Were those the three you've been photographing?  Keep posting - not much activity on here and your pics are the only thing bringing me back.