• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Anyone here carve your own???

Like the title says, Do any of you carve your own decoys or decoys for others??? Either decorative or gunners???

I've done repaints for a few years. Then started carving last fall when I helped with a carving contest the goose was in  image.jpegimage.jpegimage.jpegimage.jpeg

She really enjoyed it. And since I was helping to teach and demonstrate I got involved a little bit too...

image.jpeg

Greenwing teal were the contest ducks so that's what was carved.

This year the duck for that contest is the Bufflehead. And while it is barely June, and the contest isn't until early February, I have been working on patterns and cut my first test bodies today. (Hen and Drake)

I've been carving my own fish decoys for several years, figured why not add ducks to the mix as well. If these ones go well and it turns out to be a decent decoy, then it will be a Scaup, and a Goose for another contest. (Although I need to finish the fish part of that contest before I mess with the ducks)

So back on topic....

Who here carves??? Care to share your work???

Hadn't planed to do a build along thread, but why not??? Not much else going on...

image.jpeg

Drake on the left and hen on the right. As these are buffleheads this is kind of the preview coat as well as the primer coat. 

image.jpegimage.jpeg

Then it was time to rub in a wood pulp and glue type filler to fill the voids in the cork. Once that all dries it will be sanded and another coat of primer will go on. Getting close to the fun part. Just another in a several step process. 

image.jpegimage.jpeg

set the eyes in the hen today. Have the ones for the Drake, but don't have the right drill bits at home to open up the holes.