• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Removing fuse holder from positive line of trolling motor

I am a newbie and I am trying to understand fuses and fuse holders better for my trolling motor.  It currently has as fuse holder with a fuse inside on the positive red trolling motor line. I want to use a Minn Kota Power Center Box instead of using the fuse as I want to connect both front and back trolling motors to the box directly for 60 amps protection.

Can I simply just cut the red trolling motor battery line and separate the fuse holder from it, then tie and connect  the red line up again, and put electrical tape around it?  Will this work? Is this how  you would remove the fuse holder from the positive line?

Next, I want to hook trolling motor up to the Minn Kota Power Center Box after the fuse holder has been eliminated.    I believe there is only one fuse holder on the positive line.

Why would you not want each motor fused? IMO, keep them both fused...they're for the protection of the motors. Never just "tape" an electrical connection, especially in a wet environment. Proper soldering along with proper connections and shrink-fit tubing is the only form of connection you should use in that type of environment.

34 minutes ago, RebelSS said:

Why would you not want each motor fused? IMO, keep them both fused...they're for the protection of the motors. Never just "tape" an electrical connection, especially in a wet environment. Proper soldering along with proper connections and shrink-fit tubing is the only form of connection you should use in that type of environment.