• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Baitcasting reel: Left or Right hand retrieve

mistermom

Question

I am a baitcaster rookie. I've been using them for trolling but not casting. My question is: Would it be smarter for a right handed guy like myself who is totally comfortable reeling with his left hand on spinning reels to get a baitcaster with left hand retrieve? What thinks you folks on this? Thanks! I'll hang-up and listen.

mm

15 answers to this question

hmmmmm i tried a left hand retrieve bait caster , but it just didn't feel comfortable to me so i sold it. i too real a spinning reel with my left hand, but went back to holding the casting rod in my left. if it feels comfortable to you, go with the left. you will get more casts in do to not changing hands. just remember that fishing is suppose to be enjoyable and fun. i have been working on learning to cast with my left hand. this is an option too. del

Hi Mistermom
I have been thinking the same thing.Too me cranking with the right does not seem as comfortable as cranking with the left.SO i purchased some left hand baitcasters,but i can't tell you what i think yet,i havnt used them(but i hear that some people are already casting in their back yard) so it wont be long! wink.gif

------------------
Try Too Fish
Forced Too Work!!:)

It is all up to the user and how you feel about it. I also wind with my left on spinning gear. I am a little bit lucky, cause I can run a baitcaster either handed (ambedextrious)sp). I do prefer to pitch with my right hand, and casting I have no preference. I am looking for a new reel just for the purpose of pitching in the left hand winding style. Like Delmut said make it fun, not work. PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE.
My neighbors think I have lost it, pitching to trees when it is just above zero.