• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Help with my motor

IA4PATS

I bought a boat with a 2003 Yamaha 115 four stroke. It doesn't seem to run very well. I know the gas was pretty old so I sucked that all out and replaced it with added Seafoam. It stills runs kind a bad. I put all the power to it and it doesn't have the power to even get on plane. It seems to rev up good in neutral, but not in gear. Do I need to run it more to get it cleaned out? Also, it has this thing on it. Could this restrict it that much?

full-35062-55206-04261520151.jpg

I'm no expert, but that I don't think that rock guard is the total problem. Still, I'd yank it off and see if that helps. It's only half a dozen bolts at most, can't be too difficult.

I'm also wondering if they downsized the prop to fit it inside the rock guard. Ask a Yamaha dealer what prop is recommended with that motor and boat. You'll probably need model numbers for both.

Being a 4 stoke, and it's had old gas, no power under load, I'd first look at fuel delivery issues, as in clogged jets,etc. I'd go through and thoroughly inspect/ clean the carbs and fuel system, replace fuel filter, and go from there.

I would also check spark plugs and make sure they are clean or just replace the spark plugs. I have a 2 stroke Merc but had an issue last spring where it had a hard time getting on plain and then would only run about 35-40mph full throttle compared to 58-64mph full throttle. Spoke with a buddy and he said your spark plugs could be fouled up and to replace them. Replaced them and went out and that baby got on plain in 2 seconds.

I have the same year motor on a 17 1/2 superhawk and ran into similar issues last spring when I bought it.

Prior owners left me with a full tank of old fuel and when I initially ran it, it had some hesitation and max RPM's were only about 5,000.