• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Labeling reels with line weight?

JayDeHay

My attempts to search this have been met with results all over the board, but none pertaining to my question.

When you string up your reels, do you label them with the lb-test line you're putting on? If so, where and/or how?

This is the first year I've had enough rods/reels to make this an issue. I used to only maintain 3 combos (Ultralight, Light, Medium). I've been collecting pieces for a couple years and began pairing combos last week so I can run backup and alternate rods for given species.

I considered running the same poundage on similar action rods to keep things simple, but I'd like to fine tune rods for specific situations and species. I've got several combos that are identical, and I don't know how to identify them if I use different line weights on each.

Yes I have for several years because I have too many combos. My ultralights all get 2lb but some are just labeled FL for Floroucarbon. The others I'll put the number 4,6 etc inside spool and on foot that mounts to rod. I used to put it on spool but found sometimes it wore off hence why I started putting it on inside of spool. I use a ultra thin sharpie.

It is very rare that I will switch a reel to a different rod so I "mark" the rod by wrapping a small peice of colored Duct tape at the base of the rod just above the rod handle. Each color tape represents the line weight/type on the reel that is spooled on that combo. Red = 4lb Blue = 6 green= 8 etc.... This method has also makes it easy for me to indentify my rods from others that may be fishing in my boat with similar combos.