• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Building up a seasonally wet trail

O.T.C.

Hello to all and seasons greetings. The time is now for me to look at ideas for building up a trail. The scenario is the front 40 of my 80 is wet year after year and no hope it will ever dry. Looking for ideas, material possibilities, and is there any legal type concerns for doing so ? I've been wearing chest waders or hippers to get in there since 1983 and the time has come for it to not be that much work. In chest waders it takes me nearly 40 minutes at a slow splashing walk to get to my main stand, and it's huge effort as you're sweated up almost right away no way around that, frozen takes 6 minutes to walk to the highground. Any ideas or someone to contact maybe would be huge. The front 40 is primarily all tamarac with some balsam fir in the mix, thank you.

Hello to all and seasons greetings. The time is now for me to look at ideas for building up a trail. The scenario is the front 40 of my 80 is wet year after year and no hope it will ever dry. Looking for ideas, material possibilities, and is there any legal type concerns for doing so ? I've been wearing chest waders or hippers to get in there since 1983 and the time has come for it to not be that much work. In chest waders it takes me nearly 40 minutes at a slow splashing walk to get to my main stand, and it's huge effort as you're sweated up almost right away no way around that, frozen takes 6 minutes to walk to the highground. Any ideas or someone to contact maybe would be huge. The front 40 is primarily all tamarac with some balsam fir in the mix, thank you.

You betcha there are legal concerns. That there is a protected wetland. But you might be able to make a boardwalk kind of thing.