• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Please explain all the different line types

leechlake

Question

I've been using 4-10 pound stren mono for years, I'm semi confused by all the "newer" lines out there. I've seen spiderwire and it looks like braided line to me. What's out there and what would it be used for. If you used a super line for walleye fishing do you then use a leader material. Any help would be great.

5 answers to this question

I'm no expert, but I'll start and the seasoned folks can correct me and/or add info.

Monofilament - Single homogenous strand of nylon. Knots well, stretches some but if the filament is compromised in any way it fails. There's good mono and bad mono. Good mono might be Berkeley XL or Ironsilk. Bad mono might be the 300 yards fo $1.50 stuff on the bottom shelf.

Braided - Nylon and possibly other fibers spun into a braid, like the old black stuff. Superbraids are a tighter spin and coated to protect both the line and the gear. Knots should be a non-slippable type like a uni (hangman's), palomer, or surgeon's loop. This line also has a higher strength/diameter than mono. Most are rated on the packege with 2 numbers - the tested rating (20 lb. test) and the mono diameter of that line (6lb.) Superbraids don't snap-off. Keep clippers or scissors handy, and keep snagging probability in mind when rigging. Leaders are a good idea sometimes. Good braid might be Power Pro or Tuf Line. This is my first season using it, so I don't know any bad ones yet.