• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Hey Eyeguy

Hawg

I'm a rookie at photography and don't want to get into it but I have an older Rebel XT and would like to get a zoom lens just for bird pictures and little stuff. My feeder is only about 10-15 feet from where I sit but the regular lens,EFS18-55, doesn't do well at all. Got a suggestion for a low cost lens? Do I need any kind of adaptor plate? I'll start watching the auction sites for a lens then. I really enjoy your pictures and sometimes would like help on ID's.

I shoot Nikon so Dan will probably have a good suggestion for you. Editing helps also to sharpen stuff up a bit. I just use the elements 11 program. pretty easy to use for basic editing and can do tons of stuff if a guy wants to learn a lot. good luck !

Hawg,

You don't need anything special to shoot a longer lens. Your camera can handle either a EFS or a EF lens. You might want a tripod if the lens gets a little heavy. Do a search for POTN and at the bottom is a good spot to find used equipment. I believe you have to sign up in order to see the want ads. The 75-300 is right around $200.00 and would be a good starter lens and used it would even be cheaper used.

Hawg, if you are in the metro area wander in to a National Camera Exchange. They have a good selection of used lenses. The one Jim mentioned would be a good starter lens. I found a number of used 75-300 lenses listed with IS or Image stabilization for anywhere from $220 on up to $350. Take a look at the top of the photography forum, there is a sticky there on the basics of DSLR's and some discussion on lens selection for beginners.