• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Braided Line

A bit new to the Musky world but have been fishing for many years.

Just purchased a new rod and reel and was looking for some suggestions as to what line to put on it.

I would guess that I would want to be in the 80# test range and having something that is knot friendly would be great as the fingers and eyes arn't what they use to be.

Thanks

Hey lots of guys use 80# but I've been using 100# for the last 5 years, more room for error when it starts to break down, lasts longer, less baits thrown off into the deep, and the extra thickness will probably help you with knot tying. Sorry for the unsolictied advice.

Suffix 832 and masterbraid are probably the driest lines out there, i'm still a big fan of power pro and it's probably a little cheaper but more wet. Everyone has a different opinion but I'd probably spool up with 100# Suffix 832 personally.

Hey lots of guys use 80# but I've been using 100# for the last 5 years, more room for error when it starts to break down, lasts longer, less baits thrown off into the deep, and the extra thickness will probably help you with knot tying. Sorry for the unsolictied advice.

I switched to 832 last year as well. I like the dryness. I think it is less buoyant than others so the line behaves better in the water. The other upside for 100 lb test is it seems to backlash less and less severely. If you have a slick reel that doesn't backlash 80 is probably fine.

What is the reel you will be putting this line on? If it's a 300 series low profile I'd say go with 80# - if your putting it on a round reel (calcutta 400+ or saltist 20+) I would say 100# would be a good choice.

Seems like there is a pretty good shift to Suffix 832 going, my self included, it's a dryer line and I like that especially in the fall.

First thanks for the advise!