• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Window Installation

crazyzoe

I was wondering if anybody has an idea what is the typical cost to install a window (just install not window price). I have (14) new windows I need to put in. These are just standard size windows....no odd sizes or shapes. Debating if I should tackle myself or pay to have it done. Would be no trim work done as I am putting new siding on the outside and new trim on the inside. Any opinions on good windows? Pella, Marvin or Renewal by Anderson? Would like a good quality window that won't break the bank!!!

I am not an expert, so don't take my advice as gospel. wink

I paid to have about 1/3 of my windows done by "professionals". Only reason was because I had one huge picture window that I was afraid to mess up on my own. They did an OK job on most, but I think hid some rotten wood from me without telling me on one side of my house. They charged an arm and a leg and I wish I didn't hire them at all... The salesman also lied to me about the color options.

I did the rest of the windows with the assistance of my dad. We found 2 window frames rotten one one side of my house and replacing that was annoying. I had to pull all of the trim from the inside on those windows and re-do it later. The third window on that side is the one the "pros" hid from me.

The rest of the windows were all rather simple to do, and if you are sure you don't have rotten wood to be replaced it is a good do it yourself kind of job. I used Jeld-Wen vinyl replacement windows from Menards, sliding style.

Avoid "insert" windows if you're re-doing the siding. You want a full framed new construction window.