• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

looking to learn......

Baggerman

Look at picking up my first bait caster, any suggestions on a good reel and rod to get started with? sold separate or a combo? I'd like to keep the cost around $150. I am a complete novice to bait casters and I can use as much info as possible. thanks

Since you are a complete novice, try to find a reel with magnetic cast control. But they seem to be rare.

Abu Garcia is a good brand with some reasonably priced reels. Personally I like the round ones like the 5500C3, but many like the low profile ones better. I grew up with round reels so that is what I like.

I looked a little and the Black Max or the Silver Max by Abu Garcia looks like a reasonable first reel. (Similar but one more bearing in Silver)

And it will take practice to be able to cast without frequent backlashes. So plan on that.

I have had Bass Pro Qualifier for years and still works great, keep it maintained and cleaned works great and very forgiving. I have others that are much more complicated and would not suggest for a novice. I would watch all the videos on u-tube about casting the baitcaster and how to remove the birdnests. I also suggest that now that there is time before open water put some inexpensive heavy wieght mono on the reel that you can cut and abuse without going broke, the larger diameter of the mono is easier to untangle the birdnests stands up to abrasion on bare ground, and stand in the yard cast to laid out targets at different distances to learn the feel of the new reel and rod. Even stand on a slightly ellevated platform to simulate the casting platform in your boat as you cast to these targets. And also use a wide variety of weights as each change how the reel reacts as you cast.