• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Rainy River Sturgeon ?

Sorgy

Guy's,

Any good tips on what to expect around the weekend of April 20th. I expect strong currents. I am a relative Surgeon newby. How much weight will we need to stay on the bottom? Any special setup to outfish the rest of my boat?

Thanks

Steve

I will be up sturgeon fishing April 11th through the 14th. Assuming the Big and Little fork stay locked up you could get by with probably 3-4oz (guessing). If they're not....I have seen up to 15oz used.

Its hard to say on that though. I always bring as much as I can just in case. And I use no role sinkers. It's the only way to go in my opinion.

As for rigs.... They're all the same for the most part. 6-18" leaders with a #3 circle hook has never failed me. stack a couple of worms on and slice them up a bit and then toss on a minnow as well.

I think we got 15 in a day and a half of fishing last year. I got 7 alone and my dad and buddy got there first sturgeons every. I can't wait!

I’ve used everything from 1 oz to 14oz.  There is no way to predict how much you will need and will even change from day to day or even spot to spot on the same day.  Just bring a handful of different sizes.  Its kind of like the extension question on an auger, just bring one. smile