• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

2012/2013 Build

NodakIce

So I had been considering building a wheel house for a couple of years and this past year I finally got the ambition to start. Here are the results.

This is what I started with. Ice Assault Center Section

full-44744-29273-iceassaultcentersection

full-44744-29274-iceassaultcentersection

Then came time to cut the steel for the frame.

full-44744-29275-steelforframe.jpg

Frame all welded up and Herculined.

full-44744-29276-framecompletedandhercul

full-44744-29277-framecompletedandhercul

We then put the flooring on which is Herculined as well and added the aluminum wheel wells.

full-44744-29278-wheelwellsinstalledandf

full-44744-29279-wheelwellsinstalledandf

The next logical step would be to start building up. We ripped down 2x4's to 2x3's and off we went.

full-44744-29280-woodframing.jpg

full-44744-29281-woodframing2.jpg

After that we had to put the aluminum sheeting on. Since we had wood studs we had to make a C channel out of .032 aluminum so the VHB would have something to stick to. Sorry I don't have more pics of this. I also don't have pics of the spray foam. I told the foamer to do 1.5" on the walls and ceiling, but i think he may have been a little generous.

full-44744-29282-aluminumsheetingbeingin

The next few pics are of the completed exterior. Two RV windows, two man doors and a 7'x7' rear ramp door.

full-44744-29283-exterriorcomplete.jpg

full-44744-29284-exterriorcomplete2.jpg

full-44744-29285-rearramedoor.jpg

After the exterior was complete we needed to start the interior. I used plastic sheeting that was non fiberglass reinforced. Found out it weighed 8lbs per sheet. The reason for going with plastic was I wanted the trailer to be spray down ready so all i have to do for cleaning is rinse it out with a garden hose.