• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Dead Pike bait. Smelt, Suckers, and solution

IcerRon2010

Finally rigged up some tip ups and two rods with various rigs attached to them. Found a spot a want to try but I not sure what really to use.

Here are some baits I have herd to try.

Smelt:VHS free (where do you find them)

Sucker minnows, what size and dead or alive?

Dead bait: Does anybody soak there bait in some kind of solution, to give off more scent.

I am new to the Northern Pike scene, any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance for your help.

Where I go they bite on just about anything...on my tip-up I have an 18" leader with a bare red hook. I usually hook a shiner threw the dorsal and keep him suspended about half of whatever depth I'm fishing. But at the same time they're hitting my rod with a jig and a regular crappie minnow...on 4# test....thats when it get real fun! They're not that picky of a fish in my experience...Hope that helps a little

I throw big suckers out on my tip ups with a quick strike harness. Usually fish just off the weedline or right above the weedline if I am just out of the weedline I will fish about 2 feet off the bottom right above I try to stay a foot about the weeds.

Every once and awhile I will pick up a decoy minnow and throw that bad boy on the harness for the big ones... If you do that you may want to throw a bobber on top to prevent the decoy from setting the flag off

Finally rigged up some tip ups and two rods with various rigs attached to them. Found a spot a want to try but I not sure what really to use.

Here are some baits I have herd to try.

Smelt:VHS free (where do you find them)

I am new to the Northern Pike scene, any help would be appreciated.