• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Strikemaster chipper question

deadeye

Question

So a friend of mine picked up a Strikemaster mag2000 for killer deal. After going through it and getting it running, fixing up a couple things we finally got it out and trying to cut holes. The problem is that it doesn't cut for anything. You have to put ALL of your weight on it to even make progress.

I am used to a Solo 2.5hp 8" lazer so I am a little spoiled but I remember like 15 years ago using a chipper blade auger and it seemed to cut ok. Not as fast as my lazer but still respectable.

The engine runs just fine on his auger but it has no dig. It has gotten a new blade via the exchange at the bait shop (it seems pretty sharp), runs decent, just cant drill.

Curious if anyone has any tips that would help out. I have little experience with chipper augers so any advice would be awesome.

20 answers to this question

If the chipper blade is remotely sharp, the auger will start to dig after you have gotten enough pressure on top or/overhead of the bit. I say check to make sure you have gotten the blade on correctly. I believe the edge is angled down towards the ice. Just saying its been done before.

Same happened to me, make sure the center point is sharp. On mine it is part of the bit-not replacable. It is like a drill bit and has to be sharp. I bet the point is dinged up or the is a ding in the side of it.

Also is there snow or ice on the point? I remember a few time when the point turned into a snowcone and would not do anything.