• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

eskimo pro

fred32

Question

8 answers to this question

Fred,

There are a number of threads in this forum that discuss the pros and cons of different brands of fish houses. For the most part, quality, reliability and ease of use carry across similar models from the same company.

Take a look at these other threads to gain a little insight and hopefully someone who has specific experience with the model you asked about will give you a response.

Good luck.

Fred32,
I have been using the Eskimo Pro for 3 years now. It's a really nice fish house. I can't remember what the sales guy said when I bought this but I thought it weighed around 40 lbs. I think the current weight listed on the Eskimo web site has it listed at 73lbs, which I think is a little overstated. They may have made some modifications to it though since I bought mine. I am not really sure. The canvas is decent, there are a few tiny holes starting to form. I would say that I had about another 4-5 years with the canvas before I would need to replace it. The plastic floor is thin but has held up well. It is very easy to set up and I can usually set up the house and start fishing before those with the other houses (excluding the pull over sled types)are finished putting up their houses. It's made for two but last year I was able to fit 4 guys. We must have had over 800lbs in that house. It wasn't a pretty sight and I will never do that again. Plenty of room to stand in if you are under 6ft tall. You can also put most of your gear on the house folded up when you are pulling on or off the ice. However, my stuff fell off a few times last year so I decided to buy a mini sled and put all my gear in there. I believe the dimension of the house is 5 x 3 1/2 closed so you should take that into consideration to make sure it fits in your ve