• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Choosing a portable

macminn

Question

I'm ready to get my own portable house. I have two kids, my wife likes to fish as well. I'm 6' 1" tall and am thinking I'd like one of the taller ones, say the Clam 6800 so I can stand up in it and don't have to go outside to do so.
I understand the pull over types are more flexible, easier to move, etc.
What would you do?

12 answers to this question

The only thing I have to say about those big portables is be careful on a windy day. I have a 6x8 shoremaster I absolutly love fishing in it but I hate setting it up and taking it down. If it is windy it will blow all over the place. Plus if you ever want to go by yourself they are a pain in the a@# to set up. Look at the larger Otters. If I had it to do over again that is what I would have went with.

iffwalleyes,
Good points, one question I have though is about the weight. If I do go out just by myself, what do those things weigh, say the 6800 or speed shack XL or the otter resorter?
Can I get them into my pickup after my arms ar aching from pulling up so many fish?

I have the speedshack XL and made a sled from snow skiis to pull it on. It's not too bad load by myself. I did add a handle on both ends and also on the side for better grip. I love the shack. I have three young boys and took them out the other night and caught some 10" gills. Plenty of room and easy set up. I've had it for 5 years and it still looks like the day I bought it.

Look at the Clam 1060. It is very easy to set up, takes a few more minutes to snap in the poles but not that long. My kids are 4&6 so I put it up and take it down alone. When packed up it's only 32" x 60" x 10" and weighs 82 lbs. It's not the best if you plan on pulling with a machine. We have fished 2 adults and 3 kids with no problem. Hope this helps.

Brent