• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Throw the dart again... wink I've actually fished it a few times, but I'm no expert on Lake Thompson. I have fished SD for 30 years, so I can give you some good advice as a native of Minnesota.

If you don't have tip ups, invest in a few before you go. My favorite is the Polar Pop-up, but they have changed that model by adding an orange flag to it for better visibility. I leave a couple of Beaver Dam models over in SD, and they work well, but they don't seem to be as good as the Polar Pop-up model that has its spool mounted vertically.

Make sure everyone in the group has tip ups. It allows you to spread out on the lake, and you can fish a varieity of depths. Best of all, if you're having trouble making the set on the tip ups, they are great "indicators" of where the fish are active. I always jig in the hole where I miss the hook set on a tip up--a frequent occurrence--and will continue to jig if I'm marking fish or start to catch them. Jigging spoons were very good early last winter, but January can also see fish that want a slower presentation--dead stick or bobber lines. You'll figure it out by experimenting.

If I could only bring one lure, it would be a Buckshot Rattle spoon. Glow pink bottom. Bring everything you've got, though, and use a variety of set-ups on the tip ups--jigs and hooks (red/colored/glow).

Thompson has some interesting structure, and timber is always a good place to start. You don't have to get right in the timber, but the fish will relate to it and move out from it on breaks or points. It's a big lake, though, and mid-lake areas will be going at that time, too. You will catch both perch and walleye (oh, yeah, the "snakes" live in there, too), and Thompson has Proud Angler fish in both categories. You will have a chance to catch your "biggest perch."