• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

chipper blades or lazer blades ?

793bob

I was just thinking the same question. I need to get a new drill unit and a local guide recommended a chipper blade. His reasoning was that you can still drill holes with a dull chipper blade, your going back home with a dull lazer blade. He figured that out after hitting a pocket of goose [PoorWordUsage] on a guided trip.

Adam

I have a 20+ year old Strike Master that had the chipper blade. One of the first years that you could by the new shaft with the Lazer blades on i got one. That was aleast 5 years ago or more and i have not bought new blades yet.And it still out cuts my brothers with a brand new chipper blade he bought last week.

I have both and currently have the 8 1/4" chipper on my strikemaster now. The lazer I have is starting to get dull enough that it will not be going out with me until new blades are on.Yeah it will drill 3-1 to my chipper but it is also a 6" .I sharpened my chipper yesterday and will be goin out tomorrow. It is simple yet still headed to the lake to drill! I drill and move alot so The lazer would be nice but the chipper is quicker now!!

which of the two are more durably have the lazer pro but i find the blades are going dull fast.thinking about getting a shaft with the chipper blade.does the chipper cut fairly quick as well and is it easier to sharpen

Depending where you are at I will trade you my 8" chipper for your 8" Lazer. Mine is sharp as they come an cuts as good as a chipper can!