• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Electric auger

fire29

I have a Strikemaster electric and like it a lot. I can only get about 8 holes out of it but it comes with a cord that lets you hook it up to the car battery. Best part is that you don't have to pull 15 times to get it started and you don't have to worry about a gummed up carb.

I have the Icegator. It is a great auger. I can get about 50 holes out of it in 24 inches of ice. There is no smoke, you dont have to worry about it not starting, and no gas smell on your hands. The IceGator isnt slow, I would put it up against any of the top gas augers and give them a good run. Plus there is no starting, warm up time, or bogging down when it is still cold. Just push the button and cut. There is also a reverse on it, after you drill your hole, push the reverse button and push all of the slush back down the hole.

The down sides of it are, it weighs a little more, and if you p;lan on cutting more then 50 holes, you cant just fill it back up quick.

Over all, if you like to cut a lot of holes, you may be better off with a gas auger, if not, I highly recommend the IceGator!

Sounds like the icegator is the ticket so far...ONLY 8 holes out of the strike... I would be mad about that as i am a portable angler and would burn that up in one location. Would be ok for a perm, but for the money i wwould want at least 50 holes.Anyone put a nils on their icegator. BTY youtube has video on these in action.look up icegator you wont be disapointed