• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Is this typical for early goose??? Im a newbie........

This is my first year hunting early goose. I know hunting water isnt the best choice, but its my only option. I have hunted the last 3 days in the morning with some success. My question is, in those 3 days: The geese came in at a different time each morning,with no sort of pattern. Is this normal? I have pulled the plug at 10am every morning, and of course we will see a flock when we are leaving. when is the best time to be on the water? It seems like they are in and out of the fields all day this time of year....

I haven't hunted the early season the last couple of years but we hunted the water in western MN for years in the early season and we shot A LOT of geese between 10am and noon, that's mostly because that's when they're coming back to the water from the fields. We did get out early because there was some shooting early also but usually a big lull until later in the morning. Likewise, if you are in a field they're generally going to be heading there pretty early so be set up and ready. Good luck out there. I can't wait for the regular season to start with the cooler weather!!

Hey Bigslugger, I think I saw that you were hunting near Pelican lake, I live in Monticello and there are a lot of geese heading out of town that way in the morning but I didn't go to see where they were ending up at. Are you seeing anything out that way? Was there much for ducks flying out there?

stay out till at least noon when hunting water you will shoot way more, I always smile when people motor by and in my mind I say thanks for leavin so I have the lake to myself. some of the best shoots are in the middle of the afternooon. if you seen geese leave late they will come back in a couple hours.... darn it i just spilled the beans