• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

What Power and Length Rods for Lures?

IceIceBaby

I'm a novice at musky fishing but I have many different rods and lures and no knowledge about which rod to use for different lures. I have a 7'2" MH, 7'6" MH, 8' MH, 8' H, 7' H, 7'6" H, and a 7' 6" XH. Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Al

Not knowing the rod types, I would guess something like this:

7'2" MH, jerkbaits, gliders, possibly WTD topwaters

7'6" MH could be the same as 7'2" adding other topwaters

8' MH, will probably be your most versatile rod, cranks, bucktails (minus big double blades) and trolling

8' H, big double blades, dawgs

7' H, with other options you have, not sure what I'd use this for

7'6" H, same as 8" H

7'6" XH, larger dawgs

Remember, the longer the rod, the better casting distance you generally get without as much effort. Plus better/deeper figure 8's and better lure control (steering around weeds or changing direction away from the boat).

These are my suggestions, based on my experience, but others will most likely have a little different oppinions. Good luck. I'm sure you'll have lots of fun.

Hi Al,