• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Hang-on stands

BRULEDRIFTER

Ok, forgive my stupidity but I have zero experience with these types of stands.

I really would like to get one this season to complement my climber and ladder stands and my ground spots, but how in the heck does one go about hanging them up when it's only you out there to do it?

Any one care to share how they do it?

A harness with a lineman's belt is a must. You just screw in your steps or strap on ladder sections as you go. The belt allows you to have free movement with both of your hands.

Once you get to your desired height grunt and pull that hang-on up with a rope. You will have two free hands to connect the strap to the tree.

Some Tips:

A "bark bit" for a cordless drill takes out a lot of the work of screwing in steps, but is less-than-covert. If you are hanging a stand before season it is awesome.

For screwing in steps during season by hand, I like to use a regular cresent wrench tied to my hand. Open it just enough to get on the vertical part of the step. It gives you a ton of leverage. There is also a special tool for screwing in steps by hand but I have no experience with that.

After I put the first few steps in, I cut a branch to match the comfortable spacing. I then tie a cord to it and use it to gauge the distance for the rest of the steps up. Keeping all of the steps the same distance apart makes climbing that much easier.

And for pulling the stand up, you can strap a pully around the tree. This is nice if you have a heavy one to lift.

Most hang-ons are meant to be strapped to the tree in the folded up position as tight as possible. Then lower the platform and it gives a cam action locking itself to the tree.