• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Favorite cat structure?

kruger

What is everyone's favorite place to find cats along the river? I feel like I my fallen tree and log jam spots are ok for now, but what else do should I really look for to locate and get some bigger fish in the boat? As I am pretty new to the catfish world I'm fine with the 8 to 10 pound fish for now but it seems like thats all my spots hold ( fallen tree's and big log jams) so I would like to know where to look for some bigger fish, add some more spots to my list, and most of all PUT SOME BIGGER FISH IN THE BOAT!

Thanks Kruger.

first welcome to the cat world.

I love the snags they hold fish speacially the ones that are growing stuff on them. an old time river rat once told me that if its got live growing stuff on it(weeds) that the snag is full of life and most likely hold cats.

Look for tributaries that are putting fresh water into the river and pay attention where the baitfish are and fish the current breaks or seams,

Deep water depends on the time of day for me. morning and evening above the hole as close to the first big depth change. Mid day I will fish the deepest water of the hole.

Dont over look the shallow water I fish this stuff at night.Look for baitfish and current seams also.

hope this helps and good luck

My favorite spots are where there is a nice big snag with a moderate hole right before the snags. One of the best spots I ever fished was this scenario plus it had a creek that fed into the deep hole right before the snag. Tons of bait fish and tons of big fish.