• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Deck Building permit cost?

MuleShack

We are planning to put up a 16' x 22' deck and i just got the call today saying that the permit was ready to pick up.

She said it was $200 and that was the deck only...no footings on this permit. (they were permitted a few years ago)

Doesn't this seem overly EXPENSIVE for just a permit? Being there were no footings they didn't have to come survey to see where the septic was, it was just to look at the plans. On our last house, i thought it was only like $60 bucks.

This feels like another tax.

Seems about right. In shakopee mine was about 140$ 3 years ago.

The really SAD part is they will be there for about 5 minutes to check holes and another 15 to do a final. Isn't that something like 560$ dollars an hour?? Gotta love government.

Being a contractor I have dealt with many inspectors, and more than once I have seen them not even get out of the car!

YES, it is nothing more than a tax to pay salaries, new govt vehicles, buildings, etc. A lot of cities are really starting to get out of hand. There LGA funding has been cut so instead of cutting back they are raising rates.

I always love giving people estimates and seeing their reaction when they see the pricetag for permit fees

MuleShack,

Depending on where you are constructing this deck

the code has been changed regaurding frost footings, "unless the structure has been constructed on solid rock" it will need footings.(state code reads similar to that)

Just got done dealing with the head building offical in a metro area town. Just an F.Y.I

Seems pretty high. My permit in Ramsey was under $100 a couple of years ago.