• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

High Speed Left Handed Reels?

lunges

I have an Ambassadeur 6600CB that has a 6.3:1 gear ratio that I bought just for burning big spinnerbaits on top, it works well for that and I'm pretty sure they make it left handed (I have the right handed). It's geared high enough that if you get a ball of weeds you have to work to crank it in. Hope that helps you.

Daiwa Luna 300L, Revo Toro comes in Left as well.

I'm sure most of all the Shimano models can come in left, you just have to look a little harder for them.

I will give a high reccomendation to the Luna 300L because I have the reel and I love it.

also, some companies add a 1 to the model name which will denote a left-handed model of the reel. in some catalogues the left handed Luna is the 301.

You should tell that to my Luna then, Redig. smile

I will say I haven't thrown any Super Models on it though.

You burn double 10's with your luna? As in, cranking it as fast as you can all the time? Not just reeling them in so it's easy to do...

Im a novice with 'skis, but couldnt a abu 6600C4 with the 6.3:1 work for this? (Thats the only pike/'ski rig I have)

I realize just cranking in the big blades is hard on the gears if thats the way you did it. Couldnt you just do some rod pumping motions to save on the reel? Example: reel up the slack as you move the rod tip forward then pull back on the rod...repeat...and still keep the blades moving fast?

Or does this not really work?

You will strip the gears in the reel. The frame on cheaper (read most if not all abu's) reels is not rigid enough to withstand the pull of the blades and deflects under pressure/retrieve causing the gears to mis-align and strip. Can you fish double 10's? Sure, just slowly is all, but even then it's a lot of strain on the reel.