• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Generator lowdown?

DRH1175

Question

Looking at buying a generator for hunting and fishing. It will power my camper when power is not available. A hunting shack that has no power and when I get one a ice house in the winter. Obviously everyone heard of Honda. I am looking at the 2000i. But looking at northern they have others that have much more power for less money. What is the lowdown from someone that knows generators. What about yamaha as well? Thanks

13 answers to this question

I have been a contractor for twenty five years and have owned many brands of generators, my generators run non-stop for 8 to 10 hours a day 5 to 6 days a week. Buy a Honda or save a few dollars and be sorry when you really depend on it.

the honda is super quiet. I use mine ice fishing. it always runs great. The only thing is it doesn't have a ton of power. we can barely use a toaster and an electric frying pan at the same time Oh I have the 2000i. Shop around for prices. I think they really mark them up alot and you can find a good deal on them, some places will even hagle a little bit.

I have a honda 2000i and its a awsome unit, quiet, and i can run the camper air off of it if need be but it pushes the limit for sure, but for camping and ice fishing its the way to go, most of the time the person next to you dont even know its running! just saw a price of 839.00 in the outdoor.......paper that comes every thursday

Yamaha just came out with a 2000 this year. Might be worth checking out. I run a Yamaha ef2400 and ef1000 at my summer campsite. I run the 2400 when using air, coffee pot, microwave, and switch over to the 1000 when just battery charging, or the wife watching tv. The honda 2000 is also a nice unit. The cheaper generators are too loud for my liking. Good luck, Junky...