• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Anything new for next years flashers?

harvey lee

I had a good conversation with the Vex guy yesterday. Here is what I got from it:

Marcum uses a much less sensitive receiver in the transducer which will require more output power to get a reading. This does 2 things: shortens the life of the transducer and creates alot of feedback on more sensitive transducers in the area.

He claims that increasing power in the new Vex will solve nothing. I'm no expert on this but this is what I was told.

If one were to talk with a MarCum rep, you may learn that what Vex states is not always the total truth in regards to who uses what.

I had a conservation with MarCum about this and what they told me was not exactly what Vexilar is saying about their product.

• Replies 86
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Don,t forget to check out the Bird units also. They offer some nice units for the ice fisherman along with the open water fisherman.

I would guess that Humminbird is going to become a much larger player in the ice areana.

ok so i'm sitting over 50ft of water right now with with the zoom on bottom.....some fish keep coming through at 25ft off bottom....when using a marcum or bird what do i have to do with the unit to quick go zoom on those fish? or can i stay zoomed on the whole water column or a big chunk of it?

ok so i'm sitting over 50ft of water right now with with the zoom on bottom.....some fish keep coming through at 25ft off bottom....when using a marcum or bird what do i have to do with the unit to quick go zoom on those fish? or can i stay zoomed on the whole water column or a big chunk of it?

You just press the zoom arrow up or down.