• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Question for Vister

Crow Hunter

Vister, I took notice of the combination you use in your muzzleloader (hornady .44 HP-XTP with an MMP green sabot)from a previous post; I have purchased the same stuff, not being satisfied with the powerbelts I have been using. If you don't mind, could you explain the sighting in procedure you use; it seems everyone recommends a different procedure, I would like to know what has worked for you with this sabot/bullet combination, 100 gr triple seven pellets and a triple seven primer. Thanks for any help. CH

Crow Hunter,

I have been using that very combo in my muzzy for the last two years. I love them. One thing I did find is I need to shoot one shot after I clean my gun to get it to shoot stright. I was cleaning it after every shot trying to get it sighted in but that was making it all over the place. Now I shoot one shot then put it on the bench and shoot two or three shots and then it created a nice tight group at 70 yards. So now I clean my muzzy before hunting pop off one shot and then go hunting. I love the results with the 44 bullet. I have shot 3 deer with them and zero ran off when done. All were hit in the hot box and dropped right there.

Just my Two cents.

Froggy

I've had good luck cleaning my barrel between every shot and just popping off a primer before loading up. This ensures any wetness from the barrel is removed and gives a nice thin even coat. I print clover leafs with my T\C Omega and various types of sabots.