• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Peep or no peep?

I'm new to archery in the last year. This past spring I installed a peep sight on my bow. It helped a lot with accuracy and learning how to aim. The other day while at the range, I noticed while anchored to my chin the peep was higher up than normal. Not thinking I adjusted my head to see through the peep, lined up the target and shot missing completely. I then realized what had happened and adjusted the peep.

Today I go to the range and the peep moved again. When tying it in, I used about 15 overhand knots to create a super knot. Since it's not reliable at this point anyhow, I removed it. I figured the guy who owned the bow before me didn't have one installed so why do I need one.

Shooting without wasn't as difficult as I thought it would be as long as I pay attention to my anchor and head position.

So just wondering. Does everyone on here use a peep or not?

Whatever works for you, but you will be more accurate with a peep than without IMO. Take it to an archery pro shop and have it profesionally installed so it will not move again.

Yep, that's right. It also helps keep you focused. When that buck is standing broadside right in front of you the peep keeps you focused on a spot behind the shoulder rather than having your eye peeking at the antlers messing up you shot.

Wrap some serving or a strand of old bow string, some use dental floss, wrap it several times and tie. Then add a drop of fletching cement or similar. Last time I put a light coat of fletch cement down before starting to wrap

Archerysniper: I cut my own fletching from this springs turkey wings. Haven't tried them yet but might get to it this weekend.