Guests - If You want access to member only forums on HSO. You will gain access only when you sign-in or Sign-Up on HotSpotOutdoors.

It's easy - LOOK UPPER right menu.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Carp-fisher

The ultimate catfish sinker?

40 posts in this topic

I'm a CAD designer and have access to a CNC machine, a bunch of scrap metal, and a whole lotta time on my hands. I'm going to design a mold for some catfish sinkers. I'm thinking of just going with the bank sinker or no roll design in the 3 to 5 oz size. Anyone have any ideas on a better sinker design...shape, size, features, etc.? If we come up with something good, I'll give away some protos.....

One that could be taken on and off without cutting and retying sure would be nice.

They do make weight slides for this reason. I like the no roll, but I would be interested in a flattened out mojo style no roll.

A bank/no roll hybrid would be nice. I've seen a few around. Kind of a flattened bank sinker

^ This is what I was going to type earlier...I see them a lot and Stam 34 has them. Not sure where to get them at but yeah it is basically a flattened bank sinker like you said (not completely flattened obviously, about the same width as a no-roll).

One that could be taken on and off without cutting and retying sure would be nice.

I might have a solution for you. Easy way to change out hooks with out cutting or retying. Weights would just be a quick tie. Requires no swivel.

Yeah Team Catfish makes sinker slides or else you can buy small snap swivels and tie smaller mono line (20 lb) from the swivel to the sinker and then open the snap and attach it before your main swivel that way it won't rub on your line and you can break off easy if it gets caught up.

As far as a perfect sinker...I don't think there is one otherwise they wouldn't sell many different kinds. I prefer bank or no-roll.

how about one that is guaranteed to not get snagged, or lost to the river wink?