• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Playing the wind???

bmc

What is your guy's theory on the wind when it comes to Musky fishing. Let's say you're fishing a midlake cabbage hump and the wind is blowing across it west to east. Would you start on the east side (downwind) and work your way around the hump? If there was a gentle breeze would it matter which side you started on?

How often do you drift with the wind, like along a shoreline break? Is it better to work the shoreline breaks againts the wind (wind in your face)?

Thanks,

Brian

One thing I've heard many times about fishing in the wind is that if you drift with the wind and can cast into it, you'll be burning your bait much faster. Not always important, but sometimes it can make the difference. As far as where to start? I'm fairly new to musky fishing so I don't have any info on that.

keep in mind it's been a long, long time since i've fished lakes seriously, and i assume lake humps are what you mean. if the wind was going east OR west i always tried to set up on the north or south end (easier control for me)of the most prominent (highest) section of the hump, within casting distance of the area surrounding it. i'd work mostly that highest spot from these ends, casting on either side usually with a spinnerbait and sometimes with a bucktail or crank if the weeds were low enough.

wind north to south? same thing but set up on east/west.

i never really care which way i cast a lure in or with the wind. whatever gets me to the spot i want to hit is all i care about.