• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

1989 Force 85HP TuneUP

mlvaj

I have a 1989 Force Motor that needs a tuneup. I just recently got the boat, but it hasn't been used for 4 or 5 years. Just wondering if there's a decent shop around here that I can take it in to that is reasonably good service. I'm planning on taking it in to Supreme Marine in North Mpls since that is the only place I can find that services Force engines. Otherwise, what can I do to tune it up myself, since I know nothing about motors. I try running it this weekend with the hose but the engine doesn't want to turn over. I'll let you expert let in on it since I'm no expert otherwise, I'm taking it in today to the shop. Hopefully, I don't lose any where close to a thousand bucks to have it fix since it's an older boat/engine.

Good motors, bag ignition system wink

I check the battery first. See if you have 12+ volts coming from the posts with a volt meter (set it at 20v or under). Next check grounds at motor. Third check connections and for voltage at the ign. switch. If no power is found check positive feed to ign. switch for damage or corrosion. If power is found to be going to the ign. switch (key), check for power running to the solenoid on the left side of the motor (sitting in drivers seat). It should be a small brown little round deal with large red cable connected to it. With the key in the crank position, see if you get 12v on the volt meter or a light on to come on a test light. When all else fails, try raping the starter with a hammer.

Is the motor cranking over but not firing, or will not doing anything when the key is turned?