• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

can I eat gar?

Bumpkin74

I'm just learning a little more about fishing. I'm 52, but just now getting into the sport, but slowly. I have a thing about catfish - I want to learn to catch cats. I was in Gore's Pool tonight, looking for a path to the Mississippi (didn't find it but I was paddling in a canoe). . . . Anyhoo, these kids got a couple carp and a couple gar. They were going to bury them in a garden, and I said I'd take the gar; they let me. Are gar any good? It's 11:30 PM and I'm going outside now to clean them. Thanks for any reply.

dan from eagan

If you cook anything long enough you can eat it. You can eat gar. I actually heard its rather delicious. Down south its an expensive fish meat! Just be sure you monitor how much you actually eat. Do not want to consume to many chemicals.

OK, thanks Pure. These kids had harvested these gar by bow hunting out of their canoe. This was in North Lake, in the Gore's Pool DNR land, SE of Hastings. I hated to see them waste these fish on their garden. I cleaned them but it was a hell of a project. They could use the outer 'shell' on these things as flak jackets in Iraq. I should've used some big tin snips but I couldn't find them in my garage. Did most of the work with a big serrated kitchen knife, which will now need sharpening. I'm not kidding; the plating on these things is an engineering marvel. They don't have scales per se; it's like a semi-rigid shell. I wish now I had frozen them and then run them through my table saw. A dremel would maybe work well too. Anyhoo, they better taste good after all that.

Even if Gar tasted good, I wouldn’t want to go through the trouble of hacking away at that body armor.

I mean you can eat anything really, it’s just a matter of how bad do you want to eat it.