• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Food Plot Failure

My relatively new food plots got a dose of Round-up this past weekend. My spring planting did not take with the extreme dry weather (with the exception of a few large turnips). The bulk of the seed was Ladino Clover. Time to start over.

2 questions. Anyone else have similar results this year. And... what is your favorite fall planting/attractant. PH is on it's way up, soil is sandy well drained, and fertilizer is in per soil test (for clover), but will be re-applied depending on what I end up planting.

Any adivce is greatly appreciated.

sugar beets? I have no experience with food plots, what so ever but last fall I walked through a couple of food plots during the 3B season that were sugar beet plots, they were all tore up....I don't think it takes long to grow sugar beets either so that would be an option.

sandy soils...

try rye grain, alfalfa, chicory

You could try brassicas. Given enough moisture they can do well in the sandy soils.

sugar beets = expensive brassica

Dwarf Essex rape = inexpensive brassica

many other forms of "brassica"

Brassicas are my favorite fall planted food plot. I just bought 5 pounds of turnips and rape for 7 bucks (enough to plant an acre) Sugarbeets are a long season crop and should be planted in the spring for the best results otherwise if fall planted you will only get leaf growth and be no better off than brassicas. Another thing you could do is a cereal grain like rye or wheat mixed with some kind of peas and/or sunflowers planted in late August, they will hit the peas and sunflowers as soon as they start growing and then the grain will stay green all winter long.