• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Lowrance 522

harvey lee

Question

I had a Nav chip in this unit. I took it out and put in a LakeMaster chip and the whole unit quit working. Without the chip in the unit, I can turn it on and it works and I have lake contour maps on the screen.

How does that happen?

21 answers to this question

Ok, I'm not a Lowrance expert by any stretch, just thinkin out loud here.

Is it possible that, similar to the H2O, you have to tell it the different "Files" to read? Once again, thinkin out loud.

I ran into this when I put my Nav chip in my H2O. It took me FOREVER to figure it out and I still haven't really figured it out, yet.

That sucks. Have you backed up your waypoints? I would back them up and do a hard reset on it. How about a software update? You know if you ever want to sell it, blast me an email. I like mine and would like one for the front of the boat.

Wierd that I have lake contours still in the unit without a chip.

They come pre-loaded with maps.

Try firing it up without the chip and then when on the map screen hit the menu button then scroll down and select "map data". For map type select Lowrance. Shut the unit down and then insert the Lakemaster chip and see if that helps.

Without a chip in the unit you are just seeing dnr background maps. With lakemaster chips you should just have to insert them for them to read although I have seen units (mostly other brands) which would not read the chip. With navionics you most let the unit know which region you are in.

Hard reset did not work.

The only way I can get a lake map chip to work is to turn the unit on and get it to map and sonar page and then install the card. If I install the card in the unit and then turn it on, it locks the unit up.