• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Sucker vs. Bullhead Hook Style

snatcher20

So as I mentioned in my recap of last night in the other post, we were unable to get bullies last night. I've been using bullies almost exclusive for the last two years and have converted to circle hooks exlusively for the last year and a half.

I feel very good about circles in bullheads as bullheads are shorter and stockier. This in my mind leaves a very good chance the entire bullhead and hook are in the flat's mouth. I would guess my hookup percentage with circles is pushing 90%.

Last night my confidence was much lower in the circle hook placed in the back of a 7-10" sucker as they are longer and more slender. My results were 1/2 on hookups, and the hookup was not set well in the corner of the mouth.

Outside of Steve D's minnow harness, do you guys change hook style based on the bait fishing, or stay religious with the cirlce or J hook?

Heading out tonight again with suckers. I switched from J's to cirlces due to a poor hook up percentage. But also now have shakey confidence in circles with suckers, especially after having one come off last night. I use 8/0 circles.

use the hook that best fits your style of setting the hook. if you give it a big swing i would go with more of a open ended hook ( kahl, EWG gamak, Oshanske (sp) on them of course I use circles for almost every type of bait Iam starting to really like the EWG's tho,

I know I didnt specify what to use but gave you my thoughts on the "hook"

If you like circles, I would stay with them for a bit before you switch to different hook for suckers.

In your case you batted 1 for 2 last night, while your average is .900. You need more at bats and more strikeouts before you should start thinking about a slump.